Gelatine, a safe food?

Home / Addictions / Compulsive gambling / Gelatine, a safe food?

Gelatine, a safe food?

gelatine-a-safe-food

Gelatin (lat.: gelare = to freeze, stiff) is a natural food, it is transparent, odourless and neutral in taste and comes in many applications. There is 80 to 90% of the gelatin Protein. The remaining ingredients are water and mineral salts. The Egyptians were the First to produce gelatin-like substances. At the time of Napoleon, gelatin, brought the French. During the Blockade by England, they used gelatin as a vital source of protein.

Processing and preparation of gelatin

Gelatin is produced from collagen, e.g. from bone, cartilage, Tendons and skin of animals. After a complex process of processing (cleaning, extraction, and heating) will remain a yellowish powder, the diverse areas of application.

Powder the food industry

Gelatin is used as a gelling agent and thickener. Gummy bears, gods, food, Cake, and jellies are made from Gelatine. Milk products such as yogurt, reduced-fat cream cheese and cottage cheese, candy and various desserts may contain Gelatine.

The beverage industry benefits through the use of. Turbidity in wine and in fruit juices, are removed with their help. This process is called “Clarifying” or “Beautiful”. The subsequent filtration process frees the drink for the most part, again, of the gelatin.

Gelatin in the pharmaceutical industry

Capsules of the medicine are made from gelatin. Furthermore, it finds use in suppositories, emulsions, and as a substitute for blood plasma.

Osteoporosis and osteoarthritis

There is evidence that gelatin can be achieved in the treatment of osteoarthritis positive effects. Particularly, a gelatin-variant, the water-soluble collagen hydrolysate, here comes in the Form of food supplements.

Regular intake can reduce the joint pain may be and the mobility increase. The same applies to osteoporosis. Progressive bone loss can be reduced. The effect of gelatin or collagen-Hydroysat, however, is controversial.

BSE and gelatin

That gelatin is made from Parts of animals of the bovine species, and not only of pigs, is well known. It is, of course, that one or the other poses the question of whether the consumption of the delicious thrown off the school bus is perhaps too risky. Experts claim no: gelatin is safe. For one thing, gelatin from BSE-risk material, on the other, any existing pathogen would be through the process of processing killed. The world health organization (WHO) supports this opinion.

Vegetarian Replacement

Many vegetarians, but also some of the “meat-eaters” want to renounce to the consumption of gelatin. As gelatin is contained as a powder in so many products, this is not always easy. However, from the industry vegetarian substitute will be offered. As the “vegetarian gummy bears”, in the case of the starch instead of gelatin is used. Gelatin can be replaced by “fully”, because the gummy bears have a different consistency, they taste good, though.

Except for starch products as a replacement even alginates (e.g. Agar Agar) and pectin, a vegetable option, and thus, the Version of “vegetarian”. Here are some examples:

  • Pectin: derived from the cell walls of different fruit varieties, especially Apples. Suitable for Gel, for example, for the production of jam and Cake icing.
  • Agar Agar: derived from sea algae, and especially in medicine a major role as a breeding ground for bacteria. Also for the preparation of jellies and jellies it is excellent.
  • Carrageen: Also known under the name of “Irish moss”, is extracted algae such as Agar Agar from the sea. It is used inter alia in the manufacture of ice cream and cake.
  • Sago: Is extracted from the sago palm, but can also be isolated from potatoes. It is whitish, granulated starch, to thicken sauces and soups.